Great BOWLS of Fire!!!

9 Mar


This weekend (March 6th, 2010) I had the amazing opportunity to attend Great Bowls of Fire, a fundraiser for the Ottawa Food Bank, organized by the Ottawa Guild of Potters. This is one of the best events I have ever been to!


Here is the low down on the event. For $35 you get attend an event at the Glebe Community Centre with about 500 other people. Not only to you get to share the evening with a great group of people you also get to pick out your own, handmade pottery bowl (to keep!), all the bread you can eat from local bakeries and at least 2 bowls of delicious soup from some of the best restaurants in Ottawa. Pretty good deal right! What makes it better is that it all goes to supporting the Ottawa Food Bank.


When I went this year we got there right at 5:30pm, we went right up to start the search for the perfect soup bowl. The choice was so hard! There are hundreds of hand-crafted bowls, they are all made locally. What made the choice hard for me was that I wanted a bowl big enough to fit lots of soup, but still pretty! After much humming and haaing I chose a large green and brown bowl. It was then off to look at all of the different soups, and there were so many! 


This year 12 restaurants participated, they are; the Wellington Gastropub, Il Primo, Il Piccolino, Zuni, Thyme and Again, Canvas Restobar, Restaurant E18hteen, Absinthe Café, Stoneface Dolly’s, Allium, Domus Café and the Whalebone Oysterhouse. As you can imagine this means there was a lot of soup! It was very hard to decide which soup to have but luckily my girlfriend was there and was nice enough to share hers with me! The soups I had were Beet & Apple (Domus), Seafood Chowder (Whalebone), Cauliflower with curry oil (Canvas) and Corn chowder with chipotle and pancetta (Thyme and Again)(how can you say no to pancetta!!!). I also got to try a roasted carrot and brie soup (Allium) and Thai (Zuni). All of the soups were amazing and have convinced me to start ordering soup when I go out for supper!


 

For more information about Great Bowls of Fire visit: www.ottawaguildofpotters.ca

For information about the Ottawa Food Bank visit: www.theottawafoodbank.ca


 

Corn chowder with chipotle and pancetta (Thyme and Again)       
All of the mussels are from the Whalebone’s Seafood Chowder!!!





Cauliflower with curry oil (Canvas)

7 Responses to “Great BOWLS of Fire!!!”

  1. stuie86 April 4, 2010 at 11:42 pm #

    test

  2. Pauline August 4, 2014 at 7:55 am #

    Hello mates, how is all, and what you would like to say on thhe
    topic of this post, in my view its really amazing for me.

  3. Hair Salons In Bradenton Florida September 2, 2014 at 10:27 am #

    If some one wishess to be updated with most recent technologies therefore he must be go to see this web page and be upp to date
    every day.

  4. business loans September 21, 2014 at 2:24 am #

    Hi there to all, how iis the whole thing, I think every
    onee is getting more from this website, and your views are
    nice for new users.

  5. Bobbye September 22, 2014 at 8:07 pm #

    Spot on witth this write-up, I really think thbis
    site needs a lot more attention. I’ll probably be back again to read more, thanks for
    the info!

  6. salons in the Bradenton area September 23, 2014 at 2:24 pm #

    It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d definitely donate to
    this brilliant blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding yoiur RSS feed to my
    Google account. I look forward to new updates and will talk
    about this site with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Soup for the Community | Adventures of an Ottawa Foodie - March 14, 2014

    […] Whenever I go to a restaurant I never think to order soup. I always want to get something that I can’t make at home, either because I don’t know where to get the ingredients or because I don’t have the skill to create the dish. After trying five soups from some of Ottawa’s top restaurants, I will be ordering soup a lot more often. This weekend was the annual Great Bowls of Fire event, hosted by the Ottawa Guild of Potters. This is the third time I’ve been to Great Bowls of Fire, 2010, 2012 and 2014. You can find my pervious posts about the event HERE and HERE. […]

Leave a Reply

