I love PIGGY!!!

23 Oct

image

This week I got the chance to go to Murray Street Restaurant again! I have now been for brunch, lunch and dinner! I have always been super happy with my dinning experience at Murray Street. The restaurant has awesome wood floors, a great bar and cool walls (one seems to be made out of different pieces of wood). It’s definitely a cool place to be. I also really like the staff, they have always been very helpful suggesting drinks and what’s good on the menu!

Friday I was at Murray Street for lunch. The great thing about the lunch menu is that it’s all $14! My bill (I only had water) was just over $15! Its a great deal for such great food! For lunch I got the pulled pork sandwich, it was really good! IMG00001-20101022-1230 The pork is awesome, they use heritage large black pig braised shoulder, heritage black pig tastes so much more porky! The barbeque sauce is really interesting, I couldn’t figure out what was in it, so I asked! What the server could remember was that there was coffee, chocolate, chillies, brown sugar, ketchup, cumin and other things! Needless to say I really liked it, it got me thinking! What made the sandwich really good was that it was held together in an Art-Is-In bread bun! Instead of fries or a salad, the sandwich was served with baked beans with huge chunks of pork! If you can’t eat pork for any reason, not the meal for you, but I will happily take it off your hands! The baked beans came in a cool little cast-iron cauldron and were great on a cold day.

My friend had the mac and cheese, which is actually spaetzle and cheese. She really enjoyed it and it looked awesome served in a cast-iron skillet. IMG00002-20101022-1230 It came with a coleslaw which again was intriguing!

The craziest part of our meal was that as we were finishing, Tom Green, sat down with a couple of friends right next to us! You know your restaurant is doing well when the celebs start showing up! I never know what to do when a celeb comes and sits close to you! Glad were not Hollywood!

Anyways I would strongly recommend Murray Street Restaurant. The lunch is by far the best value but all of the meals are great! Next time I post about them hopefully it will be about their smoked pig’s head!!! Check out some more pictures below!

www.murraystreet.ca

IMG00048-20100606-1130_2 IMG00047-20100606-1130_2

IMG00046-20100606-1114_2 IMG00050-20100606-1131_2

IMG00051-20100606-1131_2

Murray Street on Urbanspoon

2 Responses to “I love PIGGY!!!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. More Murray!!! « Adventures of an Ottawa Foodie - May 15, 2011

    […] some of the best pork in the city!!! For more on Murray Street restaurant check out my past post here. When I heard that the partners of Murray Street Restuarant were opening Murray’s Market, I was […]

  2. Fire and Pizza … « Adventures of an Ottawa Foodie - October 2, 2011

    […] a couple of really popular neighbourhoods for food. The ByWard Market has tons of restaurants like; Murrary St restaurant, the Smoque Shack, Ahora and many, many others. New Edinburgh has Fraser Cafe, Farbs Kitchen and […]

Leave a Reply

