Talkin to a Chef!!!

31 Oct

If you have ever read my blog before you will realize that I am a huge fan of Fraser Cafe. (Finally LUNCH!!!, The Best Restaurant in Ottawa!!!) So one day I thought it would be great to get to know a little more about the chef who creates the food that makes Fraser Cafe my favourite restaurant! So I sent them an email with a few questions and they replied! So I am sharing the responses here on my blog. I hope you enjoy!

Ross Fraser is one of the two head chefs at Fraser Cafe (his brother Simon is the other). He has worked in a number of great restaurants around the world; Michael Stadtlander’s famed Eigensinn Farm, Café Boulud in New York City, Restaurant Gordon Ramsay in London and Domus here in Ottawa. When his brother and him opened up Fraser Cafe, the best restaurant (in my opinion) in the city was born! Get to know him a little better below!

1. How did you come up with the idea to have a Chef’s Choice on the supper menu?

It started at our our original location, (27 seats on Putman Ave.)  we thought that would have the time to cater an individual meal to each guest should they choose to give us guidance or ideas etc… but that quickly became impossible due to the great support of the neighbourhood/guests that it evolved to become ‘kitchen’s choice’ (with no modifications) It allows us to have a great selection and rotation of ingredients, and is often more than 50% of our total orders.

2. I have three younger brothers, what’s it like working with your brother?

We’ve had the opportunity to work together over the years (mainly Domus in the market) so thankfully there were no surprises. We fell into our roles quite easily, where its 50/50 without ever becoming an issue

3. What is your favourite dish that you’ve ever made?

That’s a bit impossible to answer, but I can say whether it is dining out or cooking it always has to do with the experience/environment than what it is exactly.

4. What is your favourite pizza at Za Za Za Pizza with Pizazz?

I’m slowly working my way though the list but so far its the cajun cowboy. While Simon’s son enjoys the cheezboiga

5. What is one thing you want people to know about the food scene in Ottawa?

That we have access to some of the best ingredients and products out there.

I just want to say a huge thanks to Ross for taking the time to actually answer my questions. I am sure that running a super popular restaurant is really busy, so I appreciate it even more! I know I will be back soon and I think you should go to!!!

One Response to “Talkin to a Chef!!!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fire and Pizza … « Adventures of an Ottawa Foodie - October 2, 2011

    […] like; Murrary St restaurant, the Smoque Shack, Ahora and many, many others. New Edinburgh has Fraser Cafe, Farbs Kitchen and Wine Bar and ZaZaZa Pizza. Little Itally (along Preston St.) has hundreds of […]

Leave a Reply

