Biking for a cause…

13 Apr

image

So you may have noticed I haven’t been posting as frequently as I have in the past. That’s because I have been trying to get ready for the 2011 CN Cycle for CHEO. This is an annual bikeathon that helps raise funds to battle childhood cancer at the Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO). The funds go to the CHEO Foundation, Candlelighters and Ronald McDonald House Ottawa. All of these organizations help kids who are fighting cancer and their families.

Last year I started cycling because I had always wanted to compete in a Triathlon and I had signed up for my first Try-A-Tri. I found out I loved cycling and that it really My New Bike! Giant Defy 1 helped me stay in shape. So this year I bought a brand new bike and now I need to break it in. The best way to break it in, is while helping others! I am currently looking for donations. I am hoping to raise at least $100. If you want to help me reach my goal and help some amazing young people please think of making a donation. You can make an online donation by clicking HERE or the CN Cycle for CHEO logo in the sidebar. Or register to participate! There are events for everyone, including; a 2km walk, 5km walk, 15km cycle & inline skate, 35km cycle and a 70km cycle. (I am doing the 70km cycle!)

You may wonder why I am writing about a bikeathon on a food blog. One reason is because I eat a LOT! Since I like eating, and not always the most healthy food, I need to exercise to stay healthy. I always find it’s easier to get out to exercise when you have a goal and its easier to achieve a goal (like cycling 70km) when there are others out to encourage you. I also like sharing good causes with Ottawa Foodies because they are a great group of people, who love to help their community!

Over the summer I will keep you updated with some healthier recipes and other cool community events.

3 Responses to “Biking for a cause…”

  1. vicky April 13, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

    Way to go!! I also love triathlons. Its a great way to keep in shape and I love the cross training. All the very best training for a 70 km ride and raising funds for this great cause.

    • stuie86 April 13, 2011 at 10:43 pm #

      Thanks! Triathalons are fun, I might be doing one at the end of May! 😀 Love your post on bagels! I used to do something called the Bagel Run on the weekends, we went for a run and then enjoyed some awesome bagels! Great way to start the morning!

  2. paleodiet2014 June 6, 2014 at 8:26 pm #

    This is my first time visit at here and i am really happy to read everthing at alone
    place.

Leave a Reply

