Smells like a Sauna…

1 Sep

So I haven’t updated my blog in a long, long time! This summer I have been training for a triathlon. In the last month it has taken up a lot more time then I thought, pretty much every night. So after work and training, most nights I have been so tired my brain doesn’t work. With the triathlon this Saturday I am taking it easy tonight and thought it was past due for me to update my blog. So here it is!

Along with lots of swimming, biking and running, my girlfriend and I are trying to eat a little more healthy. One of the meals that we tried as a part of our healthy eating was cedar plank salmon. I’ve made this before but this is by far the best that I have ever made it! I love cedar planked salmon because the cedar smoke gives the fish an amazing woodsy taste. You also smell like cedar after cooking!

Cedar Planked Salmon

Ingredients:DSC_0831

  • side of salmon (scored into portion sizes)
  • 1 clove of garlic (minced)
  • lemon juice (from 1/2 a lemon)
  • 4 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons dill (minced) (I used dill paste because the store was out of fresh dill)
  • salt and pepper
  • cedar plank (I suggest getting the thicker planks, I find they do a better job)

Directions:

  1. Soak your cedar plank over night. This is the most important step! If you don’t it may catch fire! And you don’t want your neighbours calling the fire department on you!
  2. Mix together the garlic, lemon juice, olive oil, dill, salt and pepper.
  3. Paint the salmon with the lemon dill mixture. Keep any leftover to paint onto the salmon while it is cooking.
  4. Preheat your barbeque to medium high. Put the plank on the grill, close the lid and cook for between 15 to 20 minutes. Check to make sure it is done to your taste.
  5. Serve and enjoy!

Here are some of my pictures of our cedar planked salmon. We had grilled sweet potatoes, broccoli and cauliflower.DSC_0830

DSC_0833 DSC_0834 DSC_0835  DSC_0828    DSC_0832

2 Responses to “Smells like a Sauna…”

  1. frugalfeeding September 2, 2011 at 4:39 am #

    What a great way of cooking salmon. It sounds absolutely divine.

  2. Spitfire April 29, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

    Where are the best places to buy a plank? I bought one at farm boy, but it’s too small for the large salmon I have. Also, you noted that thicker is better. Is there a place in town that’s better to find them?

Leave a Reply

