Harvest Noir

27 Sep

Who doesn’t love a picnic? Have you ever seen a flashmob on Youtube, they are super cool! Now if you combine the two you get Harvest Noir! Harvest Noir is a flash picnic that celebrates the autumn harvest and fresh seasonal foods here in Ottawa. If you’ve always wanted to take part in a flashmob and love food this is the event for you.

HARVEST NOIR

What: A picnic feast celebrating the autumn harvest with food from local farms. It includes many surprises and live musical performances by a dance-oriented parade band, followed by a dance reception with a fabulous DJ, world-class circus performers and other innovative surprises.

When: October 15th from 4:00pm to 11:00pm

Where: It’s a SURPRISE!!!

Who: YOU! If you would like to participate go to the Harvest Noir website, here, and sign up. The deadline is Wednesday, September 28th. I still have room at my table so contact me for info if you’re interested! (adventuresottawafoodie@gmail.com)

Cost: $37+tax (for rental fees, security, performers, etc.)

Why: For FUN!!! And to celebrate fall and the amazing food from local providers.

The Ottawa Harvest Noir draws its roots from Diner en Blanc, which happens every year in Paris, where 1000s of in the know parians meet at an undisclosed, but super cool, location (like the Louvre’s courtyard) to eat and enjoy the company of other awesome people. The event originally started when Francois Pasquier returned to Paris after a few years abroad, and wanted two hold a dinner party with his friends to reconnect. So many people wanted to come he decided that everyone should meet for a picnic and that they should all dress in white to find each other. Sine the first event, versions of Diner en Blanc have popped up in New York City, Lyon, Amsterdam, Munich, Zurich, Berlin and Montréal. This will be the first time that Ottawa hosts this type of event. So if you are looking for an adventure sign up!

If you’re looking for someone to go with send me an email and I will send you more information about my table at the event! (adventuresottawafoodie@gmail.com)

Check back soon to hear how it all went!

http://www.harvestnoir.com

Check out a cool New York Times article about the event HERE.

4 Responses to “Harvest Noir”

  1. Andrea Fisher October 4, 2011 at 11:14 am #

    Is this an adult event? Teenagers welcome to participate?

    • stuie86 October 4, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

      I am not sure! But I just left a message on their website, so once I know I will let you know!

  2. max October 16, 2011 at 1:51 am #

    went to this event tonight. fun but was expecting alot more from a picnic where one supplies their own food yet spends $42 a head. bottles of wine for over $40 fro museum of civilization too… think next time I’ll spend the same amount at a top restaurant and not have to bother hauling all my own stuff there. at $20 I think I’d go again

    • stuie86 October 16, 2011 at 11:19 am #

      I was there too. I agree really fun night but there were a few things I was disappointed with, the price of alcohol was ridiculous! Next year I will make sure to be sneakier and bring my own. Also the price was a little high. However, it was the first time the event was held in Ottawa!

Leave a Reply

