BeaverTails – part 1

7 Feb

If you live in Ottawa, you know that it’s winter. We’ve had more snow days then I’ve ever heard of, lots of snow and freezing rain and people have forgotten how to park. We also have the longest skating rink in the world, the Rideau Canal, a party all about winter, Winterlude and one of my favourite parts of winter … BeaverTails! If you’re not from Ottawa, you may think that we are a bunch of barbarians eating the tails of beavers! (Scary!) In reality BeaverTails are whole wheat and cracked wheat flour pastry. They are hand stretched into the shape of a Beaver’s Tail, float cooked on canola oil, and topped with butter and your choice of fresh, delicious toppings. Toppings include cinnamon & sugar, cinnamon & sugar with lemon (Killaloe Sunrise), maple, chocolate hazelnut and garlic butter and cheese.

In Ottawa you can get a BeaverTail any time of the year by going down to the ByWard market and visiting their year round location. But the best time to get a BeaverTail is during Winterlude. Winterlude is all about celebrating winter. In Ottawa, winter can be long and dreary. Most winters the average temperature is around -15°C, so it’s really easy to stay inside and hibernate. If you do end up staying inside all winter you end up missing out on tons of awesome activities. That’s where Winterlude comes in, it’s an excuse to get out of the house and have fun in the snow like when you were a kid. Not only do we get to have fun on the Rideau Canal (the world largest skating rink) but we also have a huge snow playground with ice slides and you can check out an amazing ice carving completion. On top of all of that there are kinds of cool activities happening at the many museums, restaurants and local business.

Usually I am one of the people who hibernates during the winter, this year I thought I would try to be a little more active. At my day job I work with an amazing person who, during Winterlude runs the BeaverTail location in Confederation Park. When I heard she was hiring, I asked if she might consider hiring me for weekend shifts. Perfect material for my blog! After much convincing that I wouldn’t burn the place down, she acquiesced and I got a weekend job! This past weekend I worked my first couple of shifts. There are four main positions in the BeaverTail’s booth: service, prep, stretching and float cooking. I worked all of the positions except prep and enjoyed float cooking the most. It’s a lot of fun working with so many awesome people and knowing so many people are enjoying the food you help to make. I’ll be working the next two weekends; my plan is to blog about each of those shifts. So stayed tuned for some stories about my time at BeaverTails.

Winterlude On The Web: http://www.canadascapital.gc.ca/celebrate/winterlude BeaverTails

On The Web: http://www.beavertailsinc.com

Twitter: @BeaverTails

BeaverTails on Facebook

One Response to “BeaverTails – part 1”

  1. Ottawa Gift Baskets February 9, 2012 at 9:15 am #

    Congratulations on getting out there. It sounds like a lot of fun. I bet you would meet lots of people. Plus Beaver Tails are delicious!

Leave a Reply

