Me eating healthy?

8 Feb

If you know me you’ll know that over the last two summers I’ve started to really get into triathlons. So far I’ve done three, two try-a-tries and a sprint triathlon. For those who aren’t up on their triathlon lingo, there are about 6 different lengths of triathlons. The longest triathlon, the one that comes to most people’s mind, is the Ironman distance. An Ironman is a 226km epic. It consists of a 3.8km swim, 180km bike and then a 42.2km run. My goal is to complete an Ironman distance event by the time I am 30, so I have 5 years to go. My goal for this year is to complete an Olympic distance triathlon, this means I am going to have to swim 1500m, bike 40km and run 10km.

While competing in a triathlon is a lot of fun and a huge challenge, the real fun and challenge is the training. Each week I run at least 3 times, swim at least twice, bike twice and do resistance training at least twice. This is only my winter training schedule. As the summer gets closer I will be doing a lot more cycling and swimming. All of this training not only makes you faster and healthier but also helps you develop a mental toughness.

Being fit and mentally tough can only take you so far though. Another key point is your nutrition, what you eat fuels you. It’s amazing what a big difference it makes when you’re working out and you’ve eaten well compared to eaten poorly. When I go out for lunch and then go for a run it feels like I have a brick in my stomach. While I try not to eat really poorly, I can definitely eat healthier. So this week I came up with a menu with my girlfriend that is a bit healthier than we normally eat. This doesn’t mean we’re going to be healthy eating saints, Thursday night we’re even going to Atelier for one of the takeover nights. We are going to try and be a little more balanced. One way we’re doing this is by cutting down on the portion size of meat we have and increasing the amount of veggies we eat. So for the next 6 days I am going to provide the recipes we use and if they are yummy or not.

Our Menu:

  • Avocado Omelet with Salad and Asian dressing
  • One-Pot Penne with Turkey Meatballs
  • Orzo and Wild Rice with Dried Fruit
  • Meatloaf
  • Curried Trout
  • Homemade Pizza

Last night we had the avocado omelet with salad and Asian dressing. Avocados are super yummy and are pretty good for you. They have more potassium then bananas and are rich in vitamin B, E and K. Unfortunately I had some difficulties with making the omelets pretty and forgot to take pictures. The omelets were good but I think that the avocado could have used a little something, maybe a little more pepper or a little bit of cumin. What I was really impressed with was the salad dressing. It was super tasty and really easy to make. The great thing about making your own salad dressing is that you control what’s in it. Most store bought dressings have stabilizers and other ingredients that extend its shelf life.  On top of it being healthier for you the dressing was really tasty! If you’d like to try out the omelets see the recipe below.

Avocado Omelet

Ingredients:

  •  3 eggs
  • ¼ cup of skim milk cheddar cheese
  • 1 small tomato
  • ½ of an Avocado
  • Dash of sea salt
  • 1/8 cup of milk

Method of Preparation:

Beat the eggs in a bowl add the milk and cheese in the eggs. Place in a frying pan on med heat with a little butter to help with the no sticking. As the eggs cook check the bottom buy lifting the edges. If it is light golden brown add the tomatoes and avocado to the top cover the pan with a lid for a few minutes tell the top of the eggs have firmed up. Remove from frying pan and then enjoy or if you want to save on time and dishes eat directly from the pan! Be careful not to burn yourself with this procedure.

Asian Dressing

  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup peanut butter
  • 3 tablespoons rice wine vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 2 teaspoons Thai chili paste

Method of Preparation:

Add all of the ingredients to a food processor and mix until smooth. Pour onto your favourite salad and enjoy!

One Response to “Me eating healthy?”

  1. Katy Watts (@klwatts) February 14, 2012 at 9:19 am #

    Wow that’s really amazing! The BF and I have been eating healthy for about a year but I’m not very good at menu planning so it’s usually dull stir frys and salads. I should try harder 😉

Leave a Reply

