Chicken Apple Crunch Salad & Olympic Note

18 Apr

Yesterday morning was my first swim in a little over a week. For the past week I’ve been feeling under the weather and decided to take some time off to feel better. Now that I am almost 100% better, it’s back to swimming in the mornings. I am always surprised how much I love to swim in the mornings. It’s always a struggle to get up in the mornings but once I am in the water I am good to go. After the workout I am always feeling great and seem to have my most productive days at work. When I was in high school I used to compete in white water kayaking. There were a lot of mornings where I would be on the water before school and when I got to school I’d feel so awesome for most of the day. Then I would crash in English class at the end of the day. (That’s why I have typos!)

My mad face while racing!

When I was kayaking there was always the dream of making the Olympic team and competing in the summer Olympics. Last weekend one of the guys I used to train with made this dream into reality by winning the only spot on the Canadian men’s White Water Slalom Kayak team.  Michael Tayler will be kicking some butt this summer in London while representing our great country. Please send your positive karma and wishes to Michael this summer! Here is a quick clip of him after winning the qualifying race – http://www.ctvolympics.ca/videos/watch/couldn-happier.html

On another note, it seems like I am eating more and more salad. I never thought I’d be someone who could have a salad for supper and feel like I’d eaten a meal. Now, with the help of Sarah, I’ve become a regular salad eater. This is the fourth recipe for salad that I am posting (The Best Salad Ever!!!, Thai Beef Salad with Mint and Poached Salmon, Garden Bean and New Potatoes Salad) and I am sure there will be lots more to come. One of the things that I’ve figured out about salad is it could have anything in it. A lot of the salads we’ve been having for supper are mostly made up of veggies but also contain some type of protein. Not only does it make it tasty but having a protein in the salad makes it that much more healthy and balanced as a meal.

Last night we had another delicious salad, Chicken, Apple Chrunch salad. This is a great quick salad that’s perfect for the summer. Sarah got the recipe from a great site called Recipe Girl. If you’re looking to speed this recipe up even more you could use leftover chicken. We also use premixed salad from Farmboy. This gives us a great mix of different greens without having to buy a bunch of whole veggies. Give the recipe a try and let me know what you think!

Second Helping!

Chicken Apple Crunch Salad

Ingredients:

2 cups cubed cooked chicken breast

1 cup diced Granny Smith apple

1/2 cup diced celery

1/4 cup dried cranberries

2 Tablespoons chopped green onions

1/3 cup light mayonnaise

1 Tablespoon light sour cream

1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon

 

Directions:

Combine first 5 ingredients in a large bowl. In a separate bowl, combine mayonnaise and remaining ingredients, stirring well with a whisk. Add mayonnaise mixture to chicken mixture, tossing well to coat.

Tips:

*This recipe is also good when sliced red grapes are substituted for the dried cranberries.

*If preparing this recipe as gluten free, just be sure to use a brand of mayonnaise that is designated as GF.

Leave a Reply

