Adding Some Spice

22 Apr

467389_10100286440977996_1875396744_o

I am going to be adding a new ingredient to my food blog. I’ve been on a different kind of adventure for the last few months; I’ve been training for a triathlon. Now instead of only posting about food, I’ll also be talking about triathlon and my training.

When I talk about triathlon most people automatically think of the Ironman World Championships in Kona, Hawaii. Though it would be amazing to be competing in Kona, I am nowhere near ready for a full Ironman. The most recognizable triathlons are the Ironman distance races but there are actually a number of different distances including Kids of Steel, Try-A-Tri, Sprint, Olympic, Ironman 70.3 (Half) and an Ironman (full). Some of the races are really long like the full Ironman about 226km and some are short like the Sprint about 26km.

 

My big race for this year is the Ironman 70.3 Mont-Tremblant. An Ironman 70.3 is 70.3 miles or 113 kilometers, 2km swim, 90km bike and 21km run. I’ve been training for this race since October and have been really stepping up my training in the past few weeks. There’s another 61 days until the race, so I still have a little bit to train. Since a triathlon consists of swimming, biking and running, in that order, there is lots of training to do.  Right now I am swimming twice a week, cycling three times a week and running four times a week. In total my training takes about seven and a half hours a week. This is one reason that I haven’t been blogging much.

For the next while on top of posting some great recipes, information on events and reviews of restaurants, I’ll be writing about triathlon and my training. Just to spice things up.

 

Leave a Reply

