Powered by Bits!

1 Jun

I first posted this on my other blog Stu Tris. I thought readers here might be interested too!

I am on Twitter (@Stuart_Buist) a bit, more sometimes than others. One thing that I’d seen a lot of on Twitter was @ENERGYbits. A lot of people seemed to be talking about EnergyBits after a long run or race. I was intrigued into what they were and the benefits to using them. I sent out a Tweet to see if anyone had any feedback on the benefits and the first person I heard back from EnergyBits! They were nice enough to send me a sample to try out for myself. For the last month or so I’ve been trying them out at a triathlon and with different workouts.

IMG_1185

First a little bit about EnergyBits (www.energybits.com). EnergyBits are made with 100% organically grown spirulina algae. Spirulina is a form of algae that has been cultivated around the world as both a whole food and as a supplement. One reason that spirulina has been so popular is because of its protein content. It contains about 64% protein and is a complete protein. A complete protein is a source of protein that contains an adequate proportion of all nine of the essential amino acids necessary for the dietary needs of humans. It also contains a crazy number of other vitamins and nutrients, including potassium, zinc, vitamin A and others, needless to say there lots of potential benefits to eating EnergyBits.

newlabelen

I’ve eaten my EnergyBits either before a race or a big workout. I noticed the biggest difference during the Somersault Early Bird Long triathlon I did a couple of weeks ago. (I’ll post about the race in the next couple of days.) I took the recommended 30 tablets about 20 minutes before the start of the race. The difference I noticed during the race was that I seemed to a more constant amount of energy. Normally at some point during the bike and definitely during the run, I start to get some negative thoughts, which I attribute to a lack of energy. During this race I felt great the entire time and had a great race. It was probably one of my faster bike, run combos ever. During my early morning swims is another time I notice the benefits. I am bad for not eating anything before my morning swims and this leaves me a little tired at the end of a long set. If I’ve had some EnergyBits before I don’t get the same tired feeling at the end of the workout.

One note about EnergyBits, in my opinion, they don’t taste good. I’ve been told you get used to the flavor but I haven’t. I swallow them like a pill, I don’t chew them, just and FYI if you’re thinking of trying them.

If you want to hear more about EnergyBits and chat with some people who eat them, you should join their weekly Twitter chat. It happens every Tuesday at 8:00pm EST. Just follow the hashtag #poweredbybits.

I will be eating my EnergyBits right before one of my biggest races, Ironman 70.3 Mont-Tremblant. If you want to get some entre the word BLOG into the coupon box as you checkout and you’ll get 10% off. Have you tried EnergyBits? What do you think?

IMG_1168 Just to be clear, I did get a free sample but these are my own opinions and experiences.

One Response to “Powered by Bits!”

  1. A. Franklin August 25, 2014 at 9:57 am #

    A Challenge to #Ottawa Foodies and Food Bloggers:
    http://franklin-on-food.blogspot.ca/2014/08/a-challenge-to-ottawa-foodies-and-food.html

Leave a comment