Spicy Thai Chicken

21 Sep

As pretty much the whole world knows today is the launch of the new iPhone 5. I just finished putting in my order for one and should be getting it around October 12th. This will be my first iPhone and I am really looking forward to trying out its camera in low light. Hopefully it will take some great pictures at restaurants. While this is my first iPhone, it isn’t the first iPhone in my family. The first person to get one was my brother and then it was my dad. My dad is now an avid iPhone user, he’s downloaded some great apps that he loves to use all the time. My dad is a great cook! He makes the best lasagna, pizza and spaghetti and meatballs (what I have every year for my birthday!). Not only is he a great cook but along with my mom they own their own fair trade coffee business Coffemark (http://bit.ly/PuVX9c) . So if you’re ever looking for some great fair trade coffee, check out their website www.coffeemark.ca.

One is his favourites is the allrecipes.com Dinner Spinner. Every once in a while, I will get a recipe in my inbox that he just tried and that the rest of my family really enjoyed. A couple of weeks ago I got a recipe from him for Thai Chicken and last night I finally got around to giving it a try.

Thai food is one of my favourites. I love the balance of sweet, salt, spicy and sour. This recipe does a great job of balancing all of these flavours and keeping the chicken juicy.  With the chicken we had rice and a quick salad. It’s a great meal that’s fast and easy to do. Perfect for a busy night.

Spicy Thai Chicken

Ingredients

  • 4 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 2 teaspoons minced garlic
  • 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lime juice

Directions

  1. 1.       Preheat grill for medium heat and lightly oil the grate.
  2. Place chicken breasts in a shallow baking dish. Whisk soy sauce, garlic, and red pepper flakes in a bowl; pour over chicken, turning to coat. Allow chicken to marinate for 10 minutes.
  3. Whisk honey and lime juice in a bowl; set aside.
  4. Place chicken on preheated grill; brush with marinade. Discard remaining marinade. Cover grill and cook for 5 minutes, then brush both sides with honey lime mixture. Flip chicken and continue cooking until no longer pink in the center and the juices run clear, about 5 more minutes. An instant-read thermometer inserted into the center should read at least 165 degrees F (74 degrees C).
Nutritional InformationServings Per Recipe: 4
Amount Per Serving
Calories: 175


Protein: 25.7g
Sodium: 961.2mg
Cholesterol: 67.2mg
Carbohydrates: 10.9g
Dietary Fiber: 0.3g
Fat: 2.9g

The original recipe can be found by clicking HERE.

 

 

Leave a Reply

