Burgers and Fries…

8 Jan

As much as I love healthy, local, organic food and going to restaurants that serve high-end food I also love fast food. I love all fast food but there is nothing better than an awesome burger. When Sarah and I were on our way back from Florida last year, we had a layover in Washington DC. While waiting for our flight we grabbed a quick dinner at a burger joint, it was Five Guys Burger and Fries. We thought we would have lots of time to get our food and eat but our flight ended up being called early and then we ended up siting and waiting for the plane to take off. Which felt like forever. So by the time I got to eat my burger it was cold but it was still one of the best burgers I’ve ever had. Since last March I’ve been craving another burger from Five Guys. So when I heard that they were opening up not one but three Five Guys restaurants in Ottawa, I was thrilled! The first Five Guys opened up a while ago in the west end of the city, which sucks for me because I live in the east end and almost never go to the west end. This Friday, the Five Guys in the Trainyards Shopping District opened, so I made my way down for an awesome burger.

Five Guys Burger and Fries was founded in 1986 (a great year, same one I was born in!) by a family with four sons. The restaurant quickly became successful and they decided to franchise the business. There are currently more than 750 locations in the United States and in Canada, which means they must be good! What makes Five Guys so good are their burgers. They are the staple of their menu. You can either get a hamburger (2 patties) or a little hamburger (1 patty) and for a little extra you can get cheese, bacon or cheese and bacon. Then you get to choose your toppings; mayo, lettuce, pickles, tomatoes, grilled onions, grilled mushrooms, ketchup, mustard, relish, raw onions, jalapeno peppers, A1 Sauce, Bar-B-Q Sauce and Hot Sauce. Today I got the cheeseburger with mayo, lettuce, pickles, tomatoes, grilled onions, ketchup and Bar-B-Q Sauce. Now while the burger was delicious, it wasn’t pretty. In my opinion the messier the burger the better! My favourite part of the burger other than the patties, which are cooked on a flat top, so they are a little bit caramelized, is the Bar-B-Q Sauce. Their Bar-B-Q Sauce has a great tang and a little spice, perfectly matching the burgers. If you’re going to Five Guys you should also get the Cajun style fries, which are delicious and maybe just a little too salty for me. Just so you know, they only have two sizes regular and large, the regular size is big enough for two people. If you like burgers you need to go to Five Guys Burgers and Fries, I know I’ll be there a lot. If you end up in line make sure not to snack too much on the free peanuts or you won’t have any room for your burger!

Five Guys Burgers and Fries (Industrial/Trainyards) on Urbanspoon

One Response to “Burgers and Fries…”

  1. Katy January 8, 2012 at 11:53 pm #

    How do you think it compares to the local options? Hintonburger? Chez Lucien? One of these days im going to compare them all at the same time and that will be my most amazing, gluttonous moment.

Leave a Reply

