Breakfast Burrito and the Best Salad Ever…

27 Mar

I love weekends! I love them because I have more time to do whatever I want, like going for a long bike ride or seeing the Hunger Games! (I did both and really like the Hunger Games!) I don’t love breakfast; I am not a real morning person and am never all that inspired to make breakfast in the morning. During the week I usually end up having either yogurt with cereal or yogurt with a hard-boiled egg. I eat breakfast because I know it’s good for me and because I am hungry. When you mix breakfast and weekends together, all of a sudden breakfast get a whole lot more interesting! Before I started trying to eat healthier, a Saturday breakfast would be fired eggs, bacon and home fries. This week I tried to mix both tasty and healthy together to make a yummy breakfast. The result was my version of a breakfast burrito.

It was made up of one slice of bacon, scrambled eggs, a little bit of salsa and some avocado, all wrapped up in a tortilla. I realize that bacon isn’t the healthiest thing in the world but it smells so good when you cook it and I love it! I don’t believe that you have to give up foods you love so that you can be healthy, I believe in moderation! (At least that’s what I try to do.) If you’re looking for a yummy breakfast some morning, give this a try it is delicious!

Last night we continued our healthy eating with one of my all time favorite recipes, Grilled Chicken Salad with Peanut Sauce. This is probably one of my most favorite salads ever, my dad was the first one to make it and it has become a classic with my family. It is pretty healthy as it has tons of veggies and grilled chicken. The one thing that makes it a little bit unhealthy is the amount of honey in the dressings. However, making your own dressings is way better than using store bought dressings. I’ve posted the Grilled Chicken Salad with Peanut Sauce recipe before and it can be found here – Grilled Chicken Salad with Peanut Sauce. (This time I remembered to take a picture!)

On top of the healthy eating I’ve been training for the upcoming triathlon season. This weekend I got out for a great 30km bike ride, I was flying for the first half of the ride but on my way home, I hit a crazy head wind, my average speed took a bit of a hit. By the end of ride I had only managed to keep a 31km/h average speed. Once I get my new Mavic Ksyrium SR wheelset, I am hoping I’ll be going much faster! Last night I got in a great 6km run. Today I had a quick 800m swim in the morning and did some weight training this afternoon. Tomorrow is another run! Only 7 weeks until my first triathlon of the year!

Also saw this cool new video put out by the Ottawa Food Bank – check it out!

One Response to “Breakfast Burrito and the Best Salad Ever…”

  1. Gladys September 12, 2014 at 8:33 pm #

    Finally i quit my day job, now i earn decent money on-line
    you should try too, just search in google – slabs roulette
    system

Leave a Reply

